Winners of 2021 Scholastic Ray Bradbury Award for Science Fiction & Fantasy announced

The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers has announced the National Medalists of the 98th annual 2021 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. For the first time, students will be recognized with the Ray Bradbury Award for Science Fiction & Fantasy.  Sponsored by the Ray Bradbury Foundation in recognition of  Bradbury’s enthusiastic  support for young artists seeking to follow their passions and improve their craft, the award provides $1,000 scholarships to six students whose entries emphasize supernatural, magical, futuristic, scientific, and technological themes.

The inaugural recipients are Samuel Franklin, New York, NY; James Lee, Northbrook, IL; Elena Luo, Flemington, NJ; Mia Naccarato, Wexford, NJ; Chinonye Omeirondi, Cypress, CA; and Sofia Schaffer, New Haven, CT.

Founded in 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards recognizes students across the United States in grades 7–12 with exceptional artistic and literary talent. Regional award winners move on to the national level where they can access opportunities to have their works evaluated, exhibited, and published. Teachers of regional winners can apply for a two week GOLDEN Educators Residency summer program. Past Scholastic Art & Writing Award recipients include Ken Burns, Kay WalkingStick, Andy Warhol, Luis Jiménez, Charles Wilbert White, Stephen King, Paul Chan, and Amanda Gorman.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *